Extending Daylight

Happy daylight savings!! I don’t know about you but boy does this make me happy… Why?

The last few months have been rough, and I’ve allowed it to get me down. Early dark cold starts to the day followed by a lengthy commute and 9 hours in an office chair. Upon leaving work, driving in traffic for an hour before returning home to do the chores and repeat! (Reminding me of a brilliant quote by Ellen Goodman). I got sucked into this world of feeling like I was always short on time and energy. It’s true it’s been wearing me down, however I am no longer going to let this define me or my happiness… No more excuses!

Normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work, and driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for, to get the job which will pay for the clothes the car and the house you leave empty all day so you can afford to live in it- Ellen Goodman

I guess it was more of a shock than usual considering I had just come off the back of being a full time yogi for 6 glorious months. The fact this has been my first winter in New Zealand for 3 years didn’t help either. All of that aside, I dropped the ball. The first thing to slip was my yoga/exercise time, next was my healthy eating habits and finally I found I was no longer making time for the things I love (writing, walking in nature, crafts, reading). My priorities no longer became priorities, I became lythargic and moody- using a heavy demanding workload as an excuse for my unhappy state.

Many of us make excuses for whatever reason, the question is, who are we fooling? Not me, not you, not anyone. It’s easy to get caught up in a vicious cycle of self sabotage and that’s exactly what happened to me this winter. The trick to getting back on track is holding the understanding and awareness of how this is affects you and those around you. For me it comes down to what’s important, what I prioritise above all else… And that is health and happiness! Something about daylight and sunshine which brings everything that’s important into focus. 

 

Unfurling and unfolding as the sun shines and the days get longer…

 
Life- a balancing act consisting of highs and lows and everything in between. It’s easy to forget these variables, especially as social media broadcasts the worlds highs and barely ever exposes the raw and honest lows. Let’s get honest, it’s human nature, life’s not always a box of chocolates and we needn’t feel less for acknowledging that. I honour truth and authenticity, and my truth is I’ve been at a low. Loosing myself at the hands of the corporate career ladder… Enough with the climb. I’m earning an income which is allowing me to have security and stability which is what I need right now. For me, that is enough.
The experiences that I am having allow me to empathise and connect with women in similar situations, which is why I am so SO excited to share my learnings through Evergreen Earth! With retreats and workshops in the making there are wonderful things on the horizon. A little short term sacrifice is all worthwhile as my business develops its wings. In the meantime I’m finding balance by staying connected to myself and my goals.
Teaching yoga once a week to my colleagues is hugely beneficial in keeping me accountable, even those times when I don’t feel up for it I leave feeling 100% more positive. Yoga really is a lifeline. As daylight savings progresses I have grand plans for yoga in the park and at the beach. Nature, plus yoga plus Vitamin D has to be a winning combination! 

Time to get the jandals out and bask in the sunshine of Spring, may you all enjoy the long evenings as summer makes its way to the Southern Hemisphere. 

Xx Sammy

 

Go feel the wind in your hair, the sun on your face and love in your heart.

 
 

Leave a comment